This Digital Health Resource Library houses three legacy collections previously maintained by the Knowledge for Health (K4Health) Project. K4Health’s work was made possible by the support of the American People through the United States Agency for International Development (USAID) . K4Health was supported from 2008-2019 by USAID's Office of Population and Reproductive HealthBureau for Global Health, under cooperative agreements with the Johns Hopkins University. K4Health was implemented by the Johns Hopkins Center for Communication Programs (CCP) in collaboration with FHI 360, Management Sciences for Health (MSH), and IntraHealth International. The K4Health Project ended in September 2019.

Collections in this community

  • mHealth Compendium [167]

    Originally developed by the African Strategies for Health (ASH) Project, the mHealth Compendiums were six annual collections of detailed information about mHealth initiatives and programs.
  • mhealth Evidence [20971]

    mHealth Evidence was launched in 2012 to bring together the world’s literature on “mHealth” (broadly speaking, the application of mobile technologies to health service delivery).
  • mHealth Knowledge [318]

    mHealth Knowledge was a portal to hundreds of selected mHealth resources, arranged into eight categories: mHealth Alliance, Applications & Platforms, Communities of Practice, Capacity Building & Learning, Multimedia Content, ...

Recent Submissions

  • Malaria Community Surveillance For Elimination 

    Anna Winters, Epidemiologist, Akros, Email: awinters@akros.com | Zunda Chisha, Malaria Surveillance Program Manager, Email: zchisha@akros.com; Anna Winters, Epidemiologist, Akros, Email: awinters@akros.com | Zunda Chisha, Malaria Surveillance Program Manager, Email: zchisha@akros.com
    A mobile phone application used by CHWs that tracks malaria cases and reports to the central DHIS2 system. CHWs diagnose and treat malaria at the village level and enter data into the application. Data is reviewed by ...
  • Ma Sante 

    Hilde Eugelink, Community Relations Officer, IICD, Email: heugelink@iicd.org; Hilde Eugelink, Community Relations Officer, IICD, Email: heugelink@iicd.org
    A simple application based on a free text messaging software installed on mobile phones with limited web access and distributed to CHWs to capture data on various health indicators during their household visits.
  • IVR for mLearning Platform 

    Dykki Settle, Director of Health Workforce, Intrahealth, Email: dsettle@intrahealth.org; Dykki Settle, Director of Health Workforce, Intrahealth, Email: dsettle@intrahealth.org
    An application that uses a interactive voice response system to deliver information and trainings to health care workers. The mLearning system can be delivered to basic mobile phones without an internet connection and is free.
  • Innovation At Scale For Community Access And Lasting Effects (inSCALE) 

    Karin Kallander, Program Coordinator, Malaria Consortium, Email: k.kallander@malariaconsortium.org | Paulin Basinga, Senior Program Officer, Gates Foundation, Email: paulin.basinga@gatesfoundation.org; Karin Kallander, Program Coordinator, Malaria Consortium, Email: k.kallander@malariaconsortium.org | Paulin Basinga, Senior Program Officer, Gates Foundation, Email: paulin.basinga@gatesfoundation.org
    inScale uses images and audio to train CHWs on consultation steps to assess, classify, treat and refer patients. The decision support tool includes a checklist of mild and severe signs of diarrhea, pneumonia and malaria ...
  • Grand Challenge Exploration Phase I Project 

    Sherrie Simms, World Vision, Email: sherrie_simms@wvi.org | Joseph Torres, GCE Program Coordinator, Gates Foundation, Email: gce@gatesfoundation.org; Sherrie Simms, World Vision, Email: sherrie_simms@wvi.org | Joseph Torres, GCE Program Coordinator, Gates Foundation, Email: gce@gatesfoundation.org
    A mobile phone based job aid used by CHWs to register pregnant women, follow prenatal and postpartum care algorithms, follow audio and text prompts through non-urgent questions and reminders and advice on ensuring a safe ...
  • GIS Mapping of Health Facilities 

    Dr. Sohail Agha, Director M&E, MCHIP, Email: sohail.agha@jhpiego.org | Monica Villanueva, AOR, USAID/Pakistan, Email: mvillanueva@usaid.gov; Dr. Sohail Agha, Director M&E, MCHIP, Email: sohail.agha@jhpiego.org | Monica Villanueva, AOR, USAID/Pakistan, Email: mvillanueva@usaid.gov
    A mobile data tool that was used to collect information on health facility locations, ownership status (public, private etc), opening hours and types of services provided. GPS coordinates were submitted along with facility ...
  • EngageTB 

    Mustafa Kudrati, Pathfinder, Email: mkudrati@pathfinder.org | Marion McNabb, Pathfinder, Email: mmcnabb@pathfinder.org; Mustafa Kudrati, Pathfinder, Email: mkudrati@pathfinder.org | Marion McNabb, Pathfinder, Email: mmcnabb@pathfinder.org
    Engage TB is a self-screening mobile application for tuberculosis. Participants do TB screening and access basic health information and TB prevention education via SMS messaging. The application also provides a list of ...
  • Empowering and Mobilizing People living with HIV/AIDS (EMPower II) 

    Huai-Ming Sun, Senior Program Officer, World Education Inc., Email: hsun@worlded.org | Emmanuel Essandoh, HIV Prevention Specialist, USAID, Email: essandoh@usaid.gov; Huai-Ming Sun, Senior Program Officer, World Education Inc., Email: hsun@worlded.org | Emmanuel Essandoh, HIV Prevention Specialist, USAID, Email: essandoh@usaid.gov
    Platform uses bulk text messaging containing health education, HIV prevention, service and treatment messages. Subscribers are HIV+ and are able to use a call back feature to receive further counseling on minimizing ...
  • eCompliance 

    Yanis Ben Amor, Director of the HIV/AIDS and TB Initiative, Columbia University, Email: yba2101@columbia.edu; Yanis Ben Amor, Director of the HIV/AIDS and TB Initiative, Columbia University, Email: yba2101@columbia.edu
    eCompliance is a portable biometric identification system operated by CHWs that is capable of identifying patients by their fingerprint and compiling patient adherence data for tuberculosis drug treatment (DOTS). CHWs are ...
  • Emergency Triage Assessment And treatment (ETAT) 

    Steve Ollis, D-tree International, Email: sollis@d-tree.org | Thomasena O'Byrne, Action Meningitis, Email: tobyrne@mlw.medcol.mw; Steve Ollis, D-tree International, Email: sollis@d-tree.org | Thomasena O'Byrne, Action Meningitis, Email: tobyrne@mlw.medcol.mw
    ETAT is a mobile phone based triage system used in urban health centers by Health Surveillance Assistants that allows them to scan through the queues to identify children needing immediate medical assessment. The tool ...
  • Delivery Team Topping Up System 

    David Alt, Country Director, USAID | DELIVER PROJECT Zimbabwe | Tel: +263-4-309-829, email: dalt@zol.co.zw; David Alt, Country Director, USAID | DELIVER PROJECT Zimbabwe | Tel: +263-4-309-829, email: dalt@zol.co.zw
    AutoDRV and Top Up software that calculates resupply quantities of health commodities and restocks health facilities via direct delivery
  • Chipatala Cha Pa Foni (Health center By Phone) 

    Zachariah Jezman, CCPF Project Manager, VillageReach, Email: zachariah.jezman@villagereach.org | Fannie Kachale, Director Reproductive Health, Malawi Ministry of Health, Email: fankachale@yahoo.co.uk; Zachariah Jezman, CCPF Project Manager, VillageReach, Email: zachariah.jezman@villagereach.org | Fannie Kachale, Director Reproductive Health, Malawi Ministry of Health, Email: fankachale@yahoo.co.uk
    CCPF provides regular tips and reminders via mobile text or voice messages on reproductive, maternal and newborn health topics. Messages are tailored to the client's week of pregnancy or a child's age.
  • Better Health For Afghan Mothers And Children (BHAMC) 

    Dennis Cherian, Senior Director of Health, World Vision, Email: dcherian@worldvision.org | Meredith Crews, Child Survival and Health Grants Program, USAID, Email: mcrews@usaid.gov; Dennis Cherian, Senior Director of Health, World Vision, Email: dcherian@worldvision.org | Meredith Crews, Child Survival and Health Grants Program, USAID, Email: mcrews@usaid.gov
    During home visits, CHWs use the mobile phone based application to access audio & visual counseling modules for antenatal and postnatal care. The application also serves as a data collection tool, allowing CHWs to upload ...
  • Community-Led Total Sanitation Mobile Surveillance 

    Amy Tiwari, WASH Program Manager, Akros, Email: atiwari@akros.com | Benjamin Winters, Country Director, Akros, Email: bwinters@akros.com; Amy Tiwari, WASH Program Manager, Akros, Email: atiwari@akros.com | Benjamin Winters, Country Director, Akros, Email: bwinters@akros.com
    A tool that uses DHIS2 software on mobile phones to collect water and sanitation data at the village-level via Community Champions (CC).
  • Ananya 

    Sara Chamberlain, BBC Media Action, Email: sara.chamberlain@in.bbcmediaaction.org |Rahul Mullick, Gates Foundation, Email: rahul.mullick@gatesfoundation.org; Sara Chamberlain, BBC Media Action, Email: sara.chamberlain@in.bbcmediaaction.org |Rahul Mullick, Gates Foundation, Email: rahul.mullick@gatesfoundation.org
    A 190 minute interactive voice response (IVR) mobile training course on RMNCH for CHWs designed to expand their knowledge of health interventions. Also included is a CHW job aid for immediate use during counseling sessions; ...
  • Zidi 

    H. Moka Lantum, Managing Partner, MicroClinic Technology, Email: moka.lantum@microclinictech.com | Dr. John Munyu, Chief Executive Officer, Kenya Medical Supplies Authority, Email: john.munyu@kemsa.co.ke; H. Moka Lantum, Managing Partner, MicroClinic Technology, Email: moka.lantum@microclinictech.com | Dr. John Munyu, Chief Executive Officer, Kenya Medical Supplies Authority, Email: john.munyu@kemsa.co.ke
    A cloud based software service that is used in dispensaries, health centers and out-patient departments that allows HCW's to record and access patient data using web-enabled devices. HCW's can use the software offline or ...
  • Wired Mothers 

    Boudewijn Peters, Danida Health Sector Program Support, Email:boudewijn.peters@gmail.com | Maryam Hemed, Zanzibar Ministry of Health, Tel: +251927361823, Email: hemed32@yahoo.com; Boudewijn Peters, Danida Health Sector Program Support, Email:boudewijn.peters@gmail.com | Maryam Hemed, Zanzibar Ministry of Health, Tel: +251927361823, Email: hemed32@yahoo.com
    Wired Mothers links pregnant women with their primary health providers thru a mobile phone application. Women receive appointment reminders, educational messaging and direct access to call their primary care providers to ...
  • SMS For Life 

    Rene Ziegler, Project Manager, SMS for Life, Email: rene.ziegler@novartis.com | jim Barrington, Program Director, SMS for Life, Email: jim.barrington@novartis.com; Rene Ziegler, Project Manager, SMS for Life, Email: rene.ziegler@novartis.com | jim Barrington, Program Director, SMS for Life, Email: jim.barrington@novartis.com
    The SMS for Life system is a stock management tool that increases the visibility of antimalarial stock levels at facilities and thereby ensuring District Medical Officers have timely information to manage commodities. The ...
  • Sky Social Franchise Network 

    Gobi Gopalakrishnan, President & Founder, World Health Partners, Email: gopi@worldhealthpartners.org| Tim Wood, Senior Program Officer, the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, Email: tim.wood @gatesfoundation.org; Gobi Gopalakrishnan, President & Founder, World Health Partners, Email: gopi@worldhealthpartners.org| Tim Wood, Senior Program Officer, the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, Email: tim.wood @gatesfoundation.org
    Mobile appliation that allows rural providers to consult with trained urban doctors on complex and difficult to diagnose or treat cases in family planning, tuberculosis and MNCH. The system incorporates telediagnostic ...
  • SMART 

    Rosemary Archibong, Senior Program Officer, CHAI Nigeria, Email: rarchibong@clintonhealthaccess.org | Frances Gonzales, Program Associate, mHealth Alliance, Email: fgonzales@mhealthalliance.org; Rosemary Archibong, Senior Program Officer, CHAI Nigeria, Email: rarchibong@clintonhealthaccess.org | Frances Gonzales, Program Associate, mHealth Alliance, Email: fgonzales@mhealthalliance.org
    SMART is an SMS printer technology that is used for early infant diagnosis of HIV/AIDS. The small battery operated printers allow health facilities to receive and print early infant diagnosis test results without the need ...

View more

Digital Square is a PATH-led initiative funded and designed by the United States Agency for International Development, the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, and a consortium of other donors.

Funders' Logos

This platform is made possible by the generous support of the American people through the United States Agency for International Development (USAID). The contents of this platform are the sole responsibility the respective course developers as noted within the platform, and do not necessarily reflect the views of PATH, USAID, the United States Government, or PATH’s funders.